Franco Frattini — Special Representative of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office for the Transdniestrian Settlement Process; Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Italian Republic (2002-2004 and 2008-2011)
Franco Frattini is an Italian Magistrate, appointed State Prosecutor on 1981. On 1986 he is appointed by public competition Administrative magistrate. Today he is Justice and Chamber President to the Italian Supreme Administrative Court (Conseil d’Etat). He served twice as Former Italian Foreign Minister (2002-2004 and 2008-2011), and as Vice-President of the European Commission and Commissioner for Justice, Freedom and Security (2004-2008). Previously, he had served as Secretary‐General of the Prime Minister's Office (1994), President of the Parliamentary Committee for Intelligence and Security Services and State Secrets (1996), Minister for Civil Service and for the Coordination of Information and Security Services (2001-2002), and Member of the Prime Minister Commission for The Constitutional reforms (2013 ‐ 2014). From 2011 to 2013 Franco Frattini Is President of the De Gasperi Foundation. Today he is President of the Italian Society for International Organization (SIOI), a non‐profit organization of Internationalist character, working under the supervision of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Special Advisor to the Serbian Government for the EU integration process, and President of the High Court of Sport Justice (CONI). He is appointed “Knight Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic”, and “Commander of the Legion of honour” by the President of France. In 2011 Frattini receives the Golden neck-chain of the Olympic Order, the highest honour of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
The award was a recognition of his personal commitment and of Italy’s efforts to have the IOC awarded Observer status at the United Nations. Franco Frattini is also decorated with the “order of Friendship”, a State decoration of the Russian Federation.


14 january 15:15–16:15
Expert Discussion ONLINE



Languages: Russian, English
Moderator: Alexander Dynkin Panellists: Esko Aho, Ivan Krastev, Franco Frattini, Wolfgang Schüssel